“Since my mom passed away, I don’t get new things of my own…”

This blog was translated by a lovely woman who traveled to Thloriso’s village in Lesotho, Africa.  We mainly focus on helping children in the US, but when someone is travelling to another country and willing to take some of our pjs in their luggage, we ask them to personally deliver the pajamas to the children.  This little six-year-old boy must have a very hard life, but we’re glad he has something warm and cozy to change into when he returns home at night.

“I am very excited to have my own set of pajamas to keep me warm this winter.  Since my mom passed away, I don’t get new things of my own like this very often.  My big brother Matle, who is 10, also got his own set of pajamas so the 2 of us can be warm at night!  Matle and I live with our Dad, who is getting older and often gets sick, so Matle is the one who usually takes care of me.  Our older sister just got married and moved away, so we boys have to learn how to cook for ourselves and wash our own clothes, which is usually womens’ work in Lesotho.  This year I am in first grade, so I walk with Matle about 2 kilometers each day to the school in the nearby village.  Sometimes it is raining or snowing when we walk home at night, so we are very glad to have our warm PJ’s to change into when we arrive home!”

About pajamaprogram

Pajama Program provides new pajamas and new books to children in need, many who are waiting and hoping to be adopted. Thousands of the children we serve live in group homes and shelters and are shuffled often between temporary living facilities. Many of them have been abused or abandoned, and have never enjoyed the simple comfort of having a mother or father tuck them in at bedtime and read to them. Since 2001 we have provided more than one million pajamas and books to children in need nationwide. Our Pajama Program segments on NBC’s The TODAY Show which aired in December , 2008 and The Oprah Winfrey Show, which aired August, 2008 and twice in 2007, helped us grow to 79 chapters in 42 States nationwide. For more www.pajamaprogram.org. Pajama Program Reading Center & HQ: 34 E. 39th St., Suite B., New York, NY 10016, 212-716-9757.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

